Prized Possession

She got a gift from her father. A bicycle. Something that she really wanted to have although she couldn’t ride a bicycle yet. A mini bicycle with two training wheels as a great choice for a 5-year-old kid who want to learn how to ride a bike.
“It’s my bike. No body may ride it. It’s just for me,” she said to Kaka, her brother.
“You can’t ride! Let me ride and you sit on the back,” her brother, Kaka, said.
“No. I’ll learn to ride it.”
“No. You can’t ride. I want to ride it,” Kaka said and tried to grab her bike.
“No. No body can be the first rider, except me,” she shouted.
“Story, both of you can play together. He can teach you to ride your bike,” her mother said.
“I know him, Mom. He will ride it with his friends.”
“Will you teach your sister, Kaka?”
“Of course, Mom. But, look. She doesn’t let me touch her bike. Who do you hope will teach you to ride a bike, Story? Your friends are bigger than you. They will ride their bikes and say goodbye to you,” Kaka said.
“Kids! I’ll watch you both. Teach your sister, OK. And Story, let your brother teach you,” Mom said.
Story was agreed, finally. Her brother taught her patiently. He let her rode with the training wheels first. Then, he took off them. She fell for many times, get into the gutter, injured, but he was trying hard not to cry.
horizontal_dividerDay after day passed, she could ride herself.
“OK. My duty is over. Let me ride your bike now. I’ll want to get around,” Kaka said.
“No. You can’t ride my bike. It’s mine.”
“I’ve taught you and you had promised to let me ride your bike after I taught you.”
“You have your own bike, right?”
“But I want to try yours.”
“No. No. No.”
One day, Story went with mother. Her brother used that time to play with Story’s bike. He played one day long. When he got back home, Story and mother were entering their house. Story saw her brother with her bike. She cried out.
“Mom, he got my bike. My bike can be damage.”
“I’m sure your brother has been careful.”
“I don’t like he ride my bike.”
“Ssstt. Don’t be like that.”
That was the first and the last time for Kaka to rode Story’s bike. She never let him touch it.
horizontal_dividerMonth after month passed, Story grew up. Her mini bike was too small for her longer legs. Her mother wanted to give that bike to Story’s cousin.
“No. It’s my bike. It’s my birthday gift from Dad. It helped me to ride a bike. It’s so historical. I don’t want to give it,” Story said.
“It will be more useful and more historical if you give it to your cousin,” Mom said.
“No, Mom. She had better to have her own new bike. I’m sorry.”
“So what will you do with your mini bike? You can’t ride it now.”
“I know. I’ll make it as my memorabilia.”
horizontal_dividerYear after year passed, Story has forgotten her memorabilia. Her mini bike was left in the shed between her Cinderella glass shoes, her dolls, her deflated balloon, her kindergarten books, her fancy hair ribbons, her pink Hello Kitty stool, and the thick dust.

One thought on “Prized Possession

  1. It’s my #92 writing. I’m trying to follow WordPress’ 365 Days of Writing Prompts.
    #92 April 2 Prized Possession: Describe an item you were incredibly attached to as a child. What became of it?

Leave a Reply

