Sweet Sixteen

painting8It was Story’s birthday. There was no big party. Some gifts still piled on the table, beside her computer. She was more interested to open her emails than open the gifts. She had special email address that she opened only on her birthday. Opening these special emails was activity that she waiting for every year. She looked for the subject of “Gift for 2014”. Click!

Hello, Birthday Girl! Happy B’Day!

     How’s the party? It’s me. It’s you. It’s Story at 16. Smile!!!

Do you still remember the gifts on 16th?

I have aromatherapy candle from Rini, a novel from Yenti, a purse from Nina, a towel from Mom, T-shirt from sweet brother, a black forest from Mom’s kitchen, a special kiss from….(you know♥)

     Gift from Dad? As usual, he waked me up in the morning with his song, but this day he has special song from his favorite singer, Neil Sedaka, “Happy Birthday Sweet Sixteen” and he showered kisses on cheek. Does he still do that in 2014? Or your husband may do that. Who is he? Ken Zhu? I hope hope hope so! Are you married with him? Do you move to Taiwan with him or he chose to stay with you in our beautiful country? OMG, I really want to know it!

     What about our project to be a famous pianist? Have you released an album with Ken Zhu? I’ve learned very hard to play this instrument these months, so you have to be successful when you read this email.

     By the way, happy birthday! Now, I want to sing Dad’s special song for me.

Tra la-la-la-la la-la-la-la

Happy birthday sweet sixteen

Tra la-la-la-la la-la-la-la

Happy birthday sweet sixteen

Tonight’s the night I’ve waited for

Because you’re not a baby anymore

You’ve turned into the prettiest girl I’ve ever seen

Happy birthday sweet sixteen

Story dropped her tears. Email from herself at 16 reminded her how happy she had been. She clicked REPLY and started to write.

Dear Happy Girl at 16, happy birthday!

Life is not always the same as what we dream. But I always try to be cheerful like you. I miss you!

She clicked SEND.

 

One thought on “Sweet Sixteen

  1. It’s my #21 writing. I’m trying to follow WordPress’ 365 Days of Writing Prompts.
    #21 January 21 Sweet sixteen
    When you were 16, what did you think your life would look like? Does it look like that? Is that a good thing?

Leave a Reply

